Let’s be brave?

Let’s get this out of the way first: I have no idea what I’m doing.

Sure, I write. Stuff. Lots of stuff. Different kinds of stuff. But only ever in secret. Until it wasn’t a secret anymore and now here I am. Dare I call myself a writer? Not quite yet.

In April of 2014, I self-published Just for the Record as a part of a workshop sponsored by buqo (a digital e-bookstore, newsstand, and reader app). After making the deadline and seeing my work live, I promptly forgot about its existence and moved on with my life. I thought of it as my trial period. If it works, then it works. Let’s move on and write more stories. If it doesn’t work, then let’s move on, no one will ever know it happened. It didn’t work (not at once, more on that later), but I expected that.

January this year, buqo sponsored another workshop, this time for YA contemporary romance. After the Moment was born, and that kind of really happened (check out the blog tour!) I’m still not sure this isn’t a dream.

After #buqoYA, #SparkNA happened. It’s still happening. Like my MC, that’s main character, I am on my journey to being brave. The assignment this time is to write an at least 20k word New Adult contemporary romance novella in two months. And if Spark (an Anvil Publishing imprint) likes it, say hello to an offer.

Do I want that offer? Oh, yes I do. I don’t think there’s anyone who wouldn’t want that deal. But deal or no deal (I had to) my goal still remains: Write That Story. That’s what’s important. Just write. Just keep writing. Even when you’re stuck and you don’t know what to do or where to go, just keep going anyway.

We all want to finish. On time. But no matter what happens after June 6, let’s all just keep writing anyway.

Leave a Reply

